The famous Tablet theard.

Talk about all art or ask for advice.

Moderators: FirstBorn, Zephio, Ceta, The Raging Spaniard

User avatar
Kichiro
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 12:11 pm
Location: The Netherlands.. for now.

Post by Kichiro » Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:43 am

Guess that's what you can expect from a Japanese company. :D

Kind of late of them to notice this trend towards manga and anime in the US and Europe though. Or isn't this something new?
---------------------------------------------
If, by some incredible space-time paradox, Chuck Norris would ever fight himself, he'd win. Period.

User avatar
Jamz
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:46 pm
Location: London UK

Post by Jamz » Sat Apr 22, 2006 3:29 pm

I resently got an extra £100 YEY! so I'll probelly get a Wacom, but what one to get is baffling me. The Graphire ones lot like there in my price range, but i danno if there worth it.
I use to have like 1500 posts T_T.......crap i need a life

MiNi

Post by MiNi » Sat Apr 22, 2006 3:39 pm

FeeBs and Def use it / or have used it , and it is worth the money .
If you don't have/want more money to spend go for it ;)

User avatar
lotsofblood
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:36 am

Post by lotsofblood » Thu May 18, 2006 7:10 pm

i was wondering....does 512 pression levels really sucks compared to 1024 or it barely makes any difference? because i just bought a wacom graphire 4 6x8 (i will receive it in 7 days...i just cant wait XD) and i noticed it only has 512 presure levels :(
"The handsome hero always wins!" -Dark Schneider

User avatar
The Raging Spaniard
Awsome Moderator
Posts: 1019
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 3:32 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by The Raging Spaniard » Thu May 18, 2006 9:14 pm

In all honesty, at your current level I doubt it will improve or decrease your performance
Xavier Garcia

Concept Artist

Portfolio
Twitter
Tumblr

User avatar
lotsofblood
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:36 am

Post by lotsofblood » Fri May 19, 2006 2:53 am

i dont know if this was meant to be a stupid insult but i think youre right i dont really care about my line's thickness or that kind of stuff now that i think about it
"The handsome hero always wins!" -Dark Schneider

User avatar
The Raging Spaniard
Awsome Moderator
Posts: 1019
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 3:32 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by The Raging Spaniard » Fri May 19, 2006 5:12 am

Oh its not an insult, its just my proffesional opinion
Xavier Garcia

Concept Artist

Portfolio
Twitter
Tumblr

Harm

Post by Harm » Sat May 20, 2006 5:03 pm

TRS never insults anyone, he always giving proffesional opinions ^_^'

But he's right about the pressure level thingy. I've also got a wacom with a 512 pressure level and I use a 1024 a while ago at work. And to tell you the truth, I didn't notice much of it. But those new ones are way cooler than my old tabby.
They even had tablets with multiple pens, one for each tool. I knew it existed but trying it out myself was even better ^_^

But don't regret your purchase, you'll love it.

User avatar
Jamz
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:46 pm
Location: London UK

Post by Jamz » Sun May 21, 2006 3:38 pm

I might order a tablet today as my current one is on its last leg. Here's my choices.
HELP I DANNO WHAT TO GET!!!1one


Graphire4 Classic XL Used

http://www.wacom-shop.net/isroot/wacom/ ... 0_S-CL.jpg

Price:
169,00 EUR

Technical specifications

* Active area (W x D): 208,8 x 150,8 mm
* Coordinate resolution: 2000 dpi
* Pressure levels of pen: 512



Intuos3 A6 USB

http://www.wacom-shop.net/isroot/wacom/ ... Z-430G.jpg

Price:
232,00 EUR

Technical Specifications

* Active area (WxD): 127 x 101 mm
* Pressure sensitivity: 1,024 levels
* Resolution: 5,080 lpi
* Accuracy Pen: +/- 0.25mm
* Tilt: +/- 60 degrees
* Maximum reading height with Pen: 6 mm
* Maximum report rate: 200 points per second

OR

I could buy my old one again with

XP-5550A Pen Tablet Series

http://www.xp-pen.com/products/images/5550sl.jpg

Price:
44.1255 EUR


Technical Specifications

*Active Area: 5.50" x 4.00"
*Resolution: 2000LPI (default)
*Pressure Sensitivity: 1024 Levels
*Report Rate: At least 100 PRS
I use to have like 1500 posts T_T.......crap i need a life

User avatar
lotsofblood
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:36 am

Post by lotsofblood » Sun May 21, 2006 4:00 pm

you could go for an intuos like i would have did if i wanted to spend hundreds more dollars on this, intuos rocks, if you're rich grab one!
"The handsome hero always wins!" -Dark Schneider

User avatar
Def Character
Mod-Squad Captain
Posts: 1196
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Def Character » Sun May 21, 2006 6:52 pm

Graphire4 Classic XL seems like A nice size and price. You'll love the bigger active working size ^^

I would only choose a intuous if you want to get deeper into creating almost traditional media. It will mean more settings to analize/think of to get the desired effect.

User avatar
Jamz
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:46 pm
Location: London UK

Post by Jamz » Tue May 30, 2006 2:34 pm

I just got the Graphire4 calssic XL and i have to say...ITS SHIT!

i have to set it to the firmist pen setting as when i have it about 2 cm above the surface it is clicking so i either get a drag box or it drawing, but now that i have the pen set to firm the stroke is all fucked up. ill show you with a screen picture now

no wait, I can't as its gone back to click from 2cm away for the tablet.
And the troubleshot section in the manual is crap too.
I use to have like 1500 posts T_T.......crap i need a life

User avatar
Def Character
Mod-Squad Captain
Posts: 1196
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Def Character » Tue May 30, 2006 3:34 pm

Sigh windows users... :roll:

Turn of this setting... Its weard opening items at just one click.

Image

User avatar
Az
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:24 am
Location: here and there
Contact:

Post by Az » Tue May 30, 2006 3:46 pm

I lol at you, Jamz.
lululu luk @ me im on the internets

User avatar
Jamz
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:46 pm
Location: London UK

Post by Jamz » Tue May 30, 2006 4:17 pm

Def Character wrote:Sigh windows users... :roll:

Turn of this setting... Its weard opening items at just one click.

[url=http://www.hostmypic.info/]Image[/u]
there isn't that option.
Image


PLUS thats not what im talking about. If i hover the pen over the tablet it is still drawing.



EDIT its not decided to fix itself with hove issue, but now it has no presure sensetivty

EDIT 2 and now it doesnt work what so ever :]

EDIT 3!!! GUESS WHAT?! the rubber don't work either XD
you gotta love wacom ;]
Last edited by Jamz on Tue May 30, 2006 4:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I use to have like 1500 posts T_T.......crap i need a life

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests